McKanna Meats at 21 Theobald’s Road….not quite a five minute walk from my new office and a meat-lovers dream! Recommended by a friend who works at the BBC. The first thing she said when I told her I would be at Chancery Lane was, ” ahhh…you will be very close to my favourite butcher!”

A window filled with hanging joints and a generous supply of game and freshly made sausages. I went to check it out and walked out with a nice hunk of pork belly, a couple wild boar and apple sausages and two chicken supremes. Ohh…this could be dangerous. Apparently if they don’t have the meat/cut you want you just give them a call and they will source it for you.

So, chicken supremes…..not the chicken dish made with a variation on a cream sauce (which I have to admit I did not know), but the butcher-cut of the boneless chicken breast with the skin on and a bit of the wing as a little handle. And what did I do with my lovely supreme…

Last-minute Caribbean chicken supreme
Juice of one lime and one clementine
One garlic clove, chopped
Two Thai chilies, halved
One generous teaspoon of Caribbean curry mix
One heaping teaspoon dark brown sugar
Pinch salt
Two tablespoons olive oil
One happy chicken supreme

Put everything together in a ziplock bag and let marinate for 15-20 minutes. Heat 1 tablespoon butter in a heavy bottom pan (I have a small cast iron pan that I use for these things). Put chicken in skin side down and cook for 3-5 minutes, or until skin has a nice colour. Turn so skin side is up and cook another minute or so and then put into a preheated 200C oven. Cook for a further 10 minutes, remove from oven, let rest a couple minutes then slice and eat! I had mine with some sliced avocado and a bit of mango chutney. It was juicy and fabulous.