My nephew Devin lives in California, he is very curious and fun to go grocery shopping with because he loves going through the vegetables and fruits, looking for new things and asking me how you cook them. Devin loves his veg…and steak.  He also loves a good PB&J sandwich for lunch, so I thought I would make his favourite lunch in to dessert!  Devin especially likes grape jelly in this PB&J…so rather than ‘jelly’ I have loaded the cake up with fresh grapes.

Fun fact about peanut butter – it takes about 540 peanuts to make a 12-ounce jar of peanut butter…..and for me any peanut butter dessert is going to at the top of my list.  I especially love peanut butter shakes,  mmmm.

So, let’s get cooking!

  • 1t vanilla
  • 175g butter, softened
  • 160g caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 200g self-raising flour
  • 50g ground almonds
  • 2 generous cups red or black seedless grapes, washed, dried and sliced on half

Heat oven to 170C.  Grease and line a loaf pan (11cmx21cm). Beat butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs one at a time.  Mic in vanilla then add ½ of the flour and ground almonds.  Mix in and then add remaining flour and ground almonds.  Fold in eth grapes, spread in to your loaf pan and bake for 55min.  Let cool completely before frosting.

Frosting

  • 125g cream cheese
  • 50g icing sugar
  • 50g smooth peanut butter

Mix it all together….and then spread across the top of your loaf cake.  Then see how long everyone can wait before devouring the cake!